The costumes

The costumes of the Salmorenc group are replicas of those traditionally worn in Dauphiné between 1850 and 1900.

There are two categories of costumes:

  • Work suits, worn during everyday life, work in the fields, etc.

  • Festive costumes, for weddings, celebrations, masses, Sundays etc ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

  • WORK SUIT

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

For work, the peasant, on the heavy linen shirt, wore the breeches with bridges, of velvet or of cloth, held in place by a colored belt. Long woolen stockings or gaiters of skin, going up to the middle of the thigh, were held, a little below the knee, by garters of red wool. The blouse, ("blaude") of blue or black canvas, sometimes embroidered in white on the seams, covered everything. The horse-dealer blouse was cut wide in front, allowing a hand to be reached to reach the satchel. The blouse was worn with a red handkerchief around the neck. The peasant wore big iron-clad shoes or galoshes and a wide-brimmed hat, sometimes worn over a red woolen cap.

 

The peasant woman's costume consisted of panti or "piss-quickly", rather short petticoats of coarse material, with a sleeveless camisole over a shirt, a small shawl of wool or printed cotton. A large canvas apron, very enveloping, coarse stockings and heavy shoes completed this costume. The headdresses were simple, made of coarse canvas.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

  • PARTY COSTUME

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

On feast days, the peasant of Isère wore a cloth or velvet frock coat over a colored waistcoat, cloth or velvet breeches and fine stockings. He wore flat shoes adorned with large buckles of copper or silver, and wore a hat with a wide brim. Some wore the bridge pants and wore a hairy top hat.

 

The women wore a wide petticoat, with numerous pleats forming a bead around the hips, on a bodice of the same color, with short basques and long sleeves. In some areas, skirts and bodices were sewn together on a belt. On the dress they put an apron, the front (in “FOUDA” dialect) of black or chip silk and a shawl of brocaded silk or fine wool. There was a wide variety of shawls: woolen embroidered with raw-colored silk, brocaded silk with fringes, cotton printed with monochrome or polychrome designs, muslin or white linen trimmed with lace.

  • CHILDREN COSTUMES

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The costumes are for boys the blouse ("blaude"), but unlike their elders, they wear pants and not the "breeches" and will have to wait until adulthood to wear the hat and put on for the moment. the woolen cap.

 

For girls, the costume is the same in the number of pieces as for adults, but the colors are more pastel and the big difference is that they do not wear a headdress, but a colored cap edged with a light piping of lace and dotted with bows in different colors.

The Salmorenc group has made the choice, in spectacle, to wear different costumes from each other because they represent different villages or towns of the Dauphiné, such as Voiron, La Mure, Ceillac, Saint Geoire en Valdaine etc.

 

These costumes are made by our "seamstresses", who after researching authentic costumes or information about them, tackle a variety of tasks, from simple hemming, to making complete costumes, fringing shawls, making headdresses for women etc.

164548995_2916662598616653_4698596949592
164402503_2916662685283311_8512283208285
164825268_2916662635283316_5880952588264

Les costumes

Les costumes du groupe Salmorenc sont des répliques de ceux portés traditionnellement en Dauphiné entre 1850 et 1900.

Il existe deux catégories de costumes :

  • Les costumes de travail, portés lors de la vie quotidienne, travaux des champs etc…

  • Les costumes de fête, pour les mariages, célébrations, messes, dimanches etc…

  • Costume de travail

Pour le travail, le paysan, sur la chemise de grosse toile, portait la culotte à pont, de velours ou de drap, retenue par une ceinture de couleur. De long bas de laine ou des guêtres de peau, montant jusqu’au milieu de la cuisse, étaient maintenue, un peu au-dessous du genou, par des jarretières de laine rouge. La blouse, (« blaude ») de toile bleue ou noire, parfois brodée de blanc sur les coutures, recouvrait le tout. La blouse du maquignon s’échancrait largement devant, permettant de passer la main pour atteindre la besace. La blouse était portée avec un mouchoir rouge autour du cou. Le paysan portait de gros souliers ferrés ou des galoches et un chapeau à large bords, quelques fois mis sur un bonnet de laine rouge.

 

Le costume de la paysanne se composait du panti ou « pisse-vite », de jupons d’étoffe grossière assez courts, avec un caraco sans manche sur une chemise, un petit châle de laine ou de coton imprimé. Un grand tablier de toile, très enveloppant, des bas grossiers et de fortes chaussures complétaient ce costume. Les coiffes étaient simples, faites de toile grossière.

  • Costume de fête 

Les jours de fête, le paysan de l’Isère revêtait la redingote de drap ou de velours sur un gilet de couleur, des culottes de drap ou de velours et des bas fins. Il chaussait des souliers plats ornés de grosses boucles de cuivre ou d’argent, et portait un chapeau à grand bords. Certains portaient le pantalon à pont et se coiffaient d’un haut de forme poilu.

 

Les femmes portaient un jupon large, à plis nombreux formant un bourrelet autour des hanches, sur un corsage de même couleur, à basques courtes et manches longues. Dans certaines régions, jupes et corsage étaient cousues ensemble sur une ceinture. Sur la robe elles mettaient un tablier, le devantier (en patois « FOUDA ») de soie noire ou puce et un châle de soie brochée ou de lainage fin. Il existait une grande variété de châles : lainage brodé de soie aux couleurs crues, soie brochée à franges, coton imprimé de dessins monochromes ou polychromes, mousseline ou linon blanc garni d’une dentelle.

  • Costume d’enfant

Les costumes sont pour les garçons la blouse (« blaude »), mais contrairement à leurs ainés, ils portent un pantalon et non la « culotte à pont » et devront attendre l’âge adulte pour se coiffer du chapeau et mettent pour l’instant le bonnet de laine.

 

Pour les filles, le costume est identique dans le nombre de pièces à celui des adultes, mais les couleurs sont plus pastel et la grande différence est qu’elles ne portent pas de coiffe, mais un bonnet de couleur bordé d’un léger tuyauté de dentelles et parsemé de nœuds aux différentes couleurs.

Le groupe Salmorenc a fait le choix, en spectacle de porter des costumes différents les uns des autres car ils représentent différents villages ou villes du Dauphiné, comme par exemple Voiron, La Mure, Ceillac, Saint Geoire en Valdaine etc.

 

Ces costumes sont réalisés par nos « couturières », qui après la recherche de costumes authentiques ou d’informations à leur sujet, s’attèlent à des tâches variées, du simple ourlet, à la confection de costumes complets, frangeage des châles, confection de coiffes pour les femmes etc.

Nous suivre
  • Facebook Social Icon

Sur Facebook

DSC03437.JPG
Adresse

Maison des associations

2, place Stalingrad

38500 Voiron, France
culturesmondevoiron@orange.fr
Tel : 07 85 53 73 82

        04 76 06 42 71

Nous trouver